Turning 60

I thought it would just be another birthday for a woman who really doesn’t pay much attention to her age and who is really not afraid of aging. But in the couple of weeks before the big day, I started having flashes of gold in my vision. What the heck?

My vision is important to me and absolutely something I want to keep for awhile so I went to see the eye doctor. Turns out the gold flashes were a sign that my eyes were going through a normal aging process, vitreous detachment. Ohh-kay. Happy birthday to me. However, if the vitreous tries to take the retina with it, then I had a chance of becoming partially or completely blind. Not ok.

Then my teeth decided to celebrate my birthday, too. I went to the dentist which I do routinely because I have a goal of keeping my natural teeth all my life. The bad habits of youth resurfacing as I age- a couple of my teeth that had some pretty large and very old fillings were beginning to crack. Great. Here come the crowns, three of them for an average cost of about a thousand bucks a piece. Happy birthday to me.

I am thankful that the eye thing resolved without any further problem and that I can afford the crowns. At this time I have medical and dental insurance. But it makes me realize that, as I plan to retire early and live on as little as possible, I do need to put some cash aside to cover health care costs that insurance won’t cover.

Truthfully, I was hoping, since I have been in very good health all of my life, with both parents in their 90’s and still living, that I could just neglect getting any insurance at all. I realize now, that if I do that, I have to increase the cash savings or forgo treatment.

Blind? Toothless? Not something I want. Some things are worth spending money on.

I wonder if some of the bloggers I follow who live on very little, retiring early but are still ‘young’, ever think about what their future might hold as far as health?

 

 

Author: camcoogan

Cam is a single woman in her late 50's heading into retirement mired in debt. Knowing she isn't alone, Cam Coogan is sharing her questions, successes and failures to give and get help in paying down debt and stoking the retirement coffers to enjoy a care-free retirement. Well, at least Cam can be a great example of what NOT to do.

Leave a Reply

