No Washing Machine

The new apartment I moved to doesn’t have a washer or dryer. I debated buying at least a washer because I could always use the balcony to line dry. (Fortunately, the balcony is on the side of the apartment, away from the ‘public’ area and strategically hidden from the apartment next door by some tall evergreen trees).

I considered my alternatives:

  1. Rent the washer. Well, this certainly is not consistent with my goal to reduce my monthly expenses.
  2. Purchase new- absolutely not considered due to the cost.
  3. Buy used from Craig’s list, etc. I nixed this idea because I get nervous about buying something that either ‘needs work’ or will soon ‘need work’. And then there is the problem of getting the washer from there to here. I would need a truck. And a dolly to get it up to my second floor apartment.
  4. Buying used from an appliance store would provide some assurance that the machine would work and it would also be delivered. However, considering I plan to move in a year, do I really want a washer to add to the moving list?

Do I even need a washing machine? That became the question. Is there something else I could use?

I could go to the laundromat. But I hate going to the laundromat. And that means more money being spent.

Then I remembered the posts I read at annienygma when Annie’s washing machine went kaput.She mulled the options she had.

What options do I have? Hand-washing is one of them. And it is a viable option, at least for me, because I work at home, I pretty much wear the same clothes a few days in a row (except the undies, of course) and I really don’t have a lot of laundry to wash.

I discussed this option with my roomies- my sister and my mom. My sister was pretty much game for anything because she has a goal very similar to mine- downsize, minimize and frugalize.

My mom, who doesn’t even do her own laundry by the way, was aghast at the thought of living without the convenience of a washer. At the age of 94, she has lived through a lot and, while she didn’t experience the beating the laundry on the rocks at the local creek era, she pretty much saw the evolution of the modern day washer and certainly, raising a large family, saw it as a necessity.

However, since she doesn’t do her own laundry, I decided to proceed with my decision to not buy a washer and come up with an alternative.

I would be fine washing my clothes by hand either in the bathroom sink or tub. But my sister wasn’t really keen on that. So, we came up with this option:

The laundry pod the-laundry-podWill let you know how it works!

 

Author: camcoogan

Cam is a single woman in her late 50's heading into retirement mired in debt. Knowing she isn't alone, Cam Coogan is sharing her questions, successes and failures to give and get help in paying down debt and stoking the retirement coffers to enjoy a care-free retirement. Well, at least Cam can be a great example of what NOT to do.

3 thoughts on “No Washing Machine”

    1. I will let you know how it works. Yes, it feels weird to decide against a washing machine but also I feel like I am helping the environment. This is a first step to reducing my dependence on electricity and becoming more eco-friendly.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You rock! I love the idea of doing without a full size washer. I’ve thought about getting one of those portable ones used on boats and in motor homes. The ones I’ve seen are just a bit bigger than the one you pictured. I still plan to get one but after I pay for a couple of other energy saving things first. I’m still hoping to find one in a local thrift store. Not likely to happen though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

